Film Review: “Stoker”

Posted on Updated on

tumblr_inline_mjd36tgbvI1qz4rgp

Stoker, 2013

dir. Park Chan-wook

★★★★★

Brilliant. Absolutely, terrifyingly brilliant. And it also has nothing to do withDracula, in case you were wondering.

The cast is stunning. Over and over again I keep falling in love with Mia Wasikowska and her beauty and her acting. She was fantastic here as the slightly odd, then a bit worrying India Stoker. Also, I want her shoes. Great shoes, those were.

And apparently, Nicole Kidman has facial expressions again! Yes, I think this is the best film she’s done in quite a while, and she looks absolutely gorgeous. Her acting is really quite good her, especially since she can, you know, move her face and stuff. That helps. (Yes, I’m talking to you, Australia – what the hell was that?)

Last, but not least, Matthew Goode. I could make a pun here, but I won’t. He was brilliant, and scary. I hadn’t seen a lot of his work before (only Brideshead Revisited, Imagine Me & You, Leap Year, Watchmen and A Single Man) but I’m happy to know that he can carry out such a unique part. Seriously, Charlie is creepy, properly creepy. Brrr.

But I think what was more impressive about this whole film (other than the fact that it was written by Prison Break’s Wentworth Miller) was the direction and cinematography. You don’t expect a film that bright to be that creepy, and it totally works because it’s an uncomfortable, awkward sort of creep, making you shiver and giggle at weird times. Very odd indeed. And Chan-wook Park had to direct through a interpreter, so that was really cool. I love how delicate he is, very simple colours and shots, but they are so effective! The camera work is fantastic, by the way.

Don’t get me started on the setting. I could spend hours going on and on about every single little beautiful corner of the house. So, so beautiful!

(I can’t say a lot about it without ruining the film, and I most certainly do not want to ruin the awesomeness of this) 

Lastly, can I spend a second talking about the music? The music and sound department of this film deserve all of the awards – because India has a very particular hearing talent, the sound is incredibly important here. The way it was done was just superb, only adding to the eerie-ness of the film. Just… wow. Not eloquent, but gets the point across.

Anyway, if you’re over 18 (because it’s R-rated) then go see it. It’s marvellous in a fresh way. Couldn’t recommend it more!

review by Mariana Duarte

Leave a Reply

