Film Review: “Pitch Perfect”

Posted on Updated on

Screen Shot 2015-05-08 at 20.14.23

Pitch Perfect, 2012

dir. Jason Moore

music by: Christopher Beck and Mark Kilian

★★★★★

Do you know why I added the guys responsible for the music? Because the music is amazing!

Okay, I don’t normally go for the music first, because I’m not that into it, like some people, and really I went to see this movie primarily because it seemed funny, but man! This is incredible! I don’t even like remixes and things like that, but I absolutely loved every tiny little thing here!

I don’t know if the singing was all real, if the actors really did sing their songs – I’ll research into that – but it sounded pretty great! The songs chosen were incredible, and now I feel like singing. But I can’t, so I won’t…

Anyway, I quite liked the songs chosen. Especially the Breakfast Club bits. Seriously, that Simple Minds song is one of my all-time favourite songs from movies ever (after the Star Wars soundtrack by John Williams and All My Days by Alexi Murdoch from Away We Go) so I was really happy that Jesse was such a movie-buff. He’s one of us, guys! In a few years, he’s going to be Miles from The Holiday (winky-winky-smiley-face).

But besides the clearly awesome 80s song choice, the others were also incredible. Now, I’m not that into current pop music, but I’ll give it a shot: Rihanna was there, Jesse J, Bruno Mars, The Proclaimers (not really current pop music, but living in Scotland, I felt quite proud), David Guetta, Madonna (80s again!), La Roux (not performed, but played on a radio mix, with Bulletproof, which I love), Lily Allen, etc… Point is, great song choices, and as of this second I’ve learned that the actors did sing! So, wow! Impressive.

Now, I’m not going to ramble on and on about music, because I don’t even understand enough about it to say much. So, moving on.

How much of an Apple advert was this movie? Every character had a MacBook, iTunes could be seen everywhere, Becca even had an iMac! Don’t get me wrong, I use Macs, so I was proud, but it’s odd. I guess they were trying to prove that Apple makes great appliances for the likes of music editing. Which they do. I mean, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross used it for their original score for The Social Network, so yay for them. Thing is, it was kinda funny how blunt they were, shoving Ping in our faces. Good old Ping.

(still better than Andrew Garfield using Bing on Amazing Spider-Man. I mean, really? Bing? Surely a computer/science genius would know that the thing sucks…)

Anyway, casting? Perfection. Loved all the characters. Especially Benji – he was so precious, with his magic and Star Wars shrine…

Jesse was great as well, Skylar Astin is fantastic. The right amount of cool and dorky, without being that annoying adorkable dude from most romantic comedies.

Becca was also wonderful. I love Anna Kendrick, she’s a great actor and I’m glad to see that she’s going past Twilight, leaving it alone as a dark shade of her past. Her character was awesome, especially her musical pursuits – how many female characters in cinema have wanted to be music producers instead of performers? I loved this twist – and her development was believable.

But the best by far was Fat Amy/Patricia. Rebel Wilson is going so far! She’s fierce and adorable and weird and I absolutely and utterly adore her. I mean, have you seen Bridesmaids? That’s enough proof of how great she is.

The other girls were awesome as well, Chloe, Aubrey, Lilly and the guys, too.

Two other highlights were the commentators played by Elizabeth Banks and John Michael Higgins. Their banter was flawless, and hilarious! Loved them.

All in all, this movie is amazing, and I can’t wait to see it again. And get the DVD. And watch it over and over and over…

review by Mariana Duarte

One thought on “Film Review: “Pitch Perfect”

    Film Review: “Pitch Perfect 2″ « Filmology said:
    May 17, 2015 at 12:01 am

    […] you recall, I reviewed Pitch Perfect when it first came out in 2012 and gave it a five-star review. It was such a wonderful ensemble […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

