Film Review: “Hitchcock”

Posted on

tumblr_inline_mhyxe0LJcL1qz4rgp

Hitchcock, 2013

dir. Sacha Gervasi

★★★★☆

Who doesn’t like a wee bit of Hitchcock in their lives? Or a lot. A lot. Yes. Good.

I remember the first Alfred Hitchcock film I ever saw. It was Rope, and my Dad was eager to make me watch it. It was brilliant – I loved that thing to bits. Just because it was so simple, so straightforward, and in its simplicity, it became extraordinary. That, and the fact that the whole thing was shot in ten takes. How awesome is that?

Anyway, the point is, I saw it when I was about 12, 13, and it sort of changed me? Is that right? I don’t know, but it made me pay attention to directors. Then I started to notice the little things. The Scorcese things, Spielberg, Allen, Tarantino, etc. And it was fantastic. So when I went to see Hitchcock, I was hoping that it would sort of bring that wonder back. And it so did!

These tiny little details spread around the sets, with the little knives and the books, everything that would become a memento of Psycho, it all placed the film exactly where it was. And, yes, it was a film about the making of Psycho, but they mentioned a bunch of the others, so that was quite nice. But my favourite thing that they did related to the other films was at the end, withThe Birds (I won’t tell you what it is, you’ll have to see it for yourself).

Now: Anthony Hopkins. Just, wow. He’s brilliant, isn’t he? I mean, he won the Academy Award for Best Actor in Silence of the Lambs after being on-screen for only 14 minutes. That is serious acting, my friend. And here he is absolutely incredible. He is Alfred Hitchcock. And not just because of the prosthetics, but it’s in him, he becomes the director. The way he speaks, his movements, everything. It’s fantastic, if you’ll ask me.

And Helen Mirren? What can one say about Helen Mirren that hasn’t been said before? The woman is an angel, she is everything, she is perfect. I might be biased, guys. But seriously, though, she is brilliant. And I can say that even after having watched The Cook, the Thief, His Wife and Her Lover (which traumatised me profoundly). Jokes aside, Mirren as Alma Reville is absolutely fantastic. She demands respect in a way that you don’t see often, and I like to think of Alma that way.

But what I liked the most was how the film moved between reality and Hitchcock’s own mind, his obsession with the Psycho story, how passionate he was growing about that film. Especially the scenes with Hitchcock and Ed Gein.

All in all, I really rather enjoyed it. From the music, to how the scenes played out. It was never boring, so that’s refreshing. And very Hitchcock-y. Highly recommended!

review by Mariana Duarte

Leave a Reply

